J-School News

UR Jschool student one of three chosen for EU Fellowship

Posted by: admin | On: 6th Aug, 2017 | News

Jennifer Ackerman will study EU institutions in Brussels.

Jennifer Ackerman, currently an intern at the Regina Leader-Post, was chosen for her TV report, Ceta application in Saskatchewan

Ackerman will participate in a week-long study tour of European Union institutions in Brussels in October.

Prior to the study tour, the winners will be recognized at an awards ceremony jointly organized with the Honourable Geoff Regan, Speaker of the House of Commons, in the fall in Ottawa.

The other winners include:

Marie-Danielle SmithNational Post journalist, for her piece:

Cheese and seafood among irritants threatening to cause stink during CETA ratification

Megan Devlin, journalism student at University of British Columbia, for her story:

It wasn’t racism: Young Brexiteers say economy, EU control more important than immigration

The European Union Delegation is delighted to partner with the CAJ on this initiative aimed at giving young Canadian journalists an opportunity to advance their career goals and create life-long bonds with Europeans.

The next edition of the EU-Canada Young Journalist Fellowship will be launched in the spring of 2018.

The European Union Delegation to Canada is a diplomatic mission with the mandate to promote the policies and positions of the European Union in Canada, to enhance the knowledge and understanding of the European Union as well as to give visibility, promote and strengthen EU-Canada relations. Follow us @EUinCanada and facebook.com/EUinCanada.

The CAJ is Canada’s largest national professional organization for journalists from all media, representing nearly 500 members across the country. The CAJ’s primary roles are to provide high‐quality professional development for its members and public‐interest advocacy. Follow @caj and facebook.com/CdnAssocJournalists.